The EBCTS Syllabus has recently been updated for the purpose of the Membership and Fellowship examinations.

The standards of these examinations (Level One and Level Two) are applied throughout the General and three sub-specialty sections for Medical Knowledge and Clinical Judgement.

The Syllabus has been indexed to facilitate cross-reference to recognised EACTS Academy courses and educational resources in the future.

Click to download the Syllabus:



1. General section


2. Adult cardiac surgery section


3. Congenital surgery section


4. Thoracic surgery section