Creating a Common Standard

The primary aim of The European Board of Cardiothoracic Surgery (EBCTS) is to encourage common high standards and qualifications in cardiothoracic surgery in all European countries and beyond.  This should potentially allow for the mutual recognition of these qualifications between European countries and elsewhere.

The standards are set to award certificates of the Board to surgeons who have attained levels of knowledge and proficiency that can be recognised as appropriate for early and established independent specialist practice in the generality of Cardiothoracic Surgery and sub-specialist areas.



The Board is responsible for the development, organisation and delivery of the Membership and Fellowship examinations.  This includes Syllabus development, Question Writing, Attendance as examiners and Quality Assurance processes.  The Board has sub-specialty representation and a Lead for external quality assurance.  The Board currently consists of 8 members and reports to the European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery Council through the Secretary General.


Officers Of The European Board

Chairman Stephen Clark Newcastle
Secretary Patrick Myers Geneva
Board Members Pietro Bajona USA
Gry Dahle Oslo
Maninder Kalkat Birmingham
Francesco Onorati Verona
Andrew Parry Bristol
 Eduard Quintana (Lead Level 1) Barcelona
ABTS representative David Fullerton Aurora
External Quality Assurance Malcolm J. Underwood Hong Kong

How to Contact Us

Please direct all questions about the European Board of Cardiothoracic Surgery or either of its examinations to:

Executive Secretariat

European Board of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Madeira Walk
Windsor, Berkshire


Tel: +44 (0) 1753 832166